On working in public and my reflections leading the Catdet WG

With the proposal for microgrants towards the formation of baby WGs passing, thought I would take the opportunity to share a few of my thoughts/learnings from the past couple of months leading the Catdets WG and also from working with various DAOs and communities.

Hopefully this would be helpful to those who are trying to form their baby WGs and work with the community.

Actually, most of the times I have no idea what I am doing. :cat:

But I think it’s a combination of:

• having a vision of what I want to create/achieve

• knowing certain rules of thumb and principles very well, and operating closely based on them

• listening closely to the community, not just read or hear, but really listen; I try, sometimes it’s painful, and I’m still learning how to do it better, but I try

• making decisions based on all of the above within certain operating constraints

Let me talk more about one of my recent fuck-ups.

In the month of July, I was extremely swamped by my commitments across all my projects and other IRL stuff - this led to a loss of focus on certain aspects of community work. To some extent I could feel the vibes deteriorating in the Jupiter Discord in real time, there were a few issues we were confronted with:

• lack of a strong purpose for the CoC core, people didn’t really know what they were doing as CoC and wanted to contribute more, but there was no clear way to do so

• internal miscommunication and conflict among some members of the core community. This was especially tough because often it’s not like one side is “obviously” wrong, and sometimes things just need time to be worked out

• the CAWG was not active enough in both the core and wider community. I wasn’t clear enough in activating and leading the team

So there were a few key decisions that we made that I think was important.